Tentative List of Members in the UCPN(Maoist) Factions

This is a slightly old article (Jan 7th, 2010) from The Nepali Times however, it is useful as it is one of the few lists that I have seen that actually breaks down the members of the three Maoist politbureau factions that constitute the UCPN(Maoist). I am not confident that these factions are accurately represented in this list (I am cautious to reduce people to some simple factional identity as I am sure that there is more fluidity amongst the factions depending on the political issue at hand) as I think that there are some obvious errors which I discuss briefly below, but I thought it would be useful for all people to see as I have been discussed the 3-faction/2-line struggle in the UCPN(Maoist) on this blog quite recently and with the current controversy about the allocation of ministerial positions. The clearest example of an error on the list is Krishna Bahadur Mahara who is listed as a member of the Kiran-faction,whereas  he is definitely a member of the Prachanda faction as has been reported in numerous media sources in the last few weeks:

Maoist splits (Khem Bhandari)

The Khanna garment expose has brought party splits to the fore. Mohan Baidya is said to have control over the organisation but Baburam Bhattarai has the vision to lead the party in the right direction. Pushpa Kamal Dahal keeps shifting his position to play one against another. He does it well. Having successfully portrayed Bhattarai as subservient to India, he managed to get his name put forward for the post of PM at the central committee meeting. This is how he finds an acceptable position between the factions of Baidya and Bhattarai. The politburo is split as follows:

Mohan Baidya faction

Ram Bahadur Thapa; Chandra Prakash Gajurel; Amik Sherchan; Krishna Bahadur Mahara; Bed Prakash Gurung; Netra Bikram Chand; Hitman Shakya; Narayan Sharma; Hari Bhakta Kandel; Pampha Bhusal; Lokendra Bista Magar; Kul Prasad KC; Khadga Bahadur Biswakarma; Dharmendra Bastola; Indra Mohan Sigdel; Lila Mani Pokharel; Ninu Chapagain; Swanam Saathi; Bishwanath Shah

Pushpa Kamal Dahal faction

Narayan Kaji Shrestha; Posta Bahadur Bogati; Dina Nath Sharma; Giriraj Mani Pokharel; Agni Prasad Sapkota; Haribol Gajurel; Shakti Bahadur Basnet; Hemant Prakash Oli; Gopal Kiranti; Hit Raj Pandey; Lekh Raj Bhatta; Dil Bahadur Shrestha; Nanda Kishor Pun; Bhim Prasad Gautam; Bishwa Bhakta Dulal

Baburam Bhattarai faction

Barsaman Pun; Top Bahadur Rayamajhi; Hisila Yami; Debendra Poudel; Chandra Prakash Khanal; Ram Karki; Janardan Sharma



2 thoughts on “Tentative List of Members in the UCPN(Maoist) Factions

  1. What exactly does each faction advocate? All I know is that Baidya represents the left, Prachanda the center and Bhattarai the right, but what are the politics of each faction?

    1. Nothing in particular. All three factions represent typical Communist factions – groups that are power-thirsty, money-hungry, position-centric, willing to merge/split at every opportune moment, with ‘visions’ changing every roll of the dice, shamelessly falsifying every possible fact, use of violence as and when they deem appropriate. There is nothing to learn about the politics of each faction, mosfeld, cause there’s no real core value to it. 😦

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s